Read Books By AWers!

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

editing for authors ad

A publisher or agency using Google ads to solicit your novel probably isn't anyone you want to write for.

Go Back   Absolute Write Water Cooler > General Writing Interest > Scripts, Stage, and Screen
Register FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Old 10-17-2009, 05:59 PM   #1
Kitara
I do believe in Faries!

Kitara is on a distinguished road
Question spec script for sitcom -how long should it be?

Hi, not sure if this has been discussed but trying to figure out when I read my script for a pilot, does the amount of time it takes me to read equal the amout of time it will last on screen? I have zero experience in screenwriting, but I have this great idea for a sitcom, one that is original and funny. I am using Page 2 for software. I just don't know how many words it will take to fill a standard hour on television, minus the commercials & credits. I am picturing a 1 hr pilot with half hour episodes to follow. Can anyone give me some guidelines?

Of course I have no idea on how to get it to an agent yet, but that's a question for another time, once I've polished it off.

thanks!
Kitara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 06:12 PM   #2
Maryn
You, too?
AW Moderator