Read Books by AWers!

Welcome! The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

If this site is helpful to you,
Please consider a voluntary subscription to defray ongoing expenses.

Visit the AW chat room!
If you have an IRC program, just visit the #AbsoluteWrite channel on StarChat
Some helpful chat tips.

Save an extra 10% on one item with coupon C3R3URC! See site for details.


Go Back   Absolute Write Water Cooler > Freelance Writing > Freelance Writing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2008, 07:23 AM   #1
AppleTree76
Got the hang of it, here
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42
AppleTree76 is on a distinguished road
Is this website legit?

Has anyone out there heard of this company, "Freelancehomewriters.com?" You have to pay $2.99 to join, so given that I'm a bit skeptical. Is it legit?
AppleTree76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 08:20 AM   #2
Williebee
Work if you get Write.
AW Mod
 
Williebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Two lines up.
Posts: 5,573
Williebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate complimentsWilliebee is so great that we've run out of appropriate compliments
Their domain name is hidden behind a private registry company, and that one has some questionable pop ups connected to it's home page.

Makes me a bit leery of them.
__________________
"Assume Good Intentions."

www.ifoundaknife.com

At play in the land of the free (software).
http://www.tech4writers.net

"Turning wine into water does not make you miraculous." -- Brian "Omni" Dillon

The Newbie Guide to the 'Cooler.
Williebee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 08:47 AM   #3
TemlynWriting
The Tony Award-winning
AW Mod
 
TemlynWriting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,004
TemlynWriting is a candidate for sainthoodTemlynWriting is a candidate for sainthoodTemlynWriting is a candidate for sainthoodTemlynWriting is a candidate for sainthoodTemlynWriting is a candidate for sainthoodTemlynWriting is a candidate for sainthoodTemlynWriting is a candidate for sainthoodTemlynWriting is a candidate for sainthood
The Paying Markets forum is specifically for posting actual paying markets, so I'm going to move your thread to the Freelance Writing forum, where your question would sooner be answered.

Just from a quick look, and knowledge of similar sites, I would strongly advise you to run away from that site and don't look back. There are a lot of places (websites/blogs) where you can view the same job listings for free.

I'm sure you'll get more feedback from others.
__________________
~ Julia Temlyn, Word Therapist
Temlyn Writing -
editing, writing, social media management, & community moderating services
The Proof is in the Reading!

I write about: word therapy (writing)musical theaterHouston theatreencouraging writersmiscarriage & pregnancy issues
Ning communities: Houston WritersWriters RememberMusical Reviewer
Etc.: LinkedinTwitterFacebookMySpace

TemlynWriting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 11:06 AM   #4
herdon
AW Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 897
herdon has a spectacular aura
Never pay for job listings. You can get listing for free from other sites.
herdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2008, 08:06 AM   #5
AppleTree76
Got the hang of it, here
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42
AppleTree76 is on a distinguished road
Wink

Best to avoid this one then!
AppleTree76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2008, 01:05 AM   #6
WildScribe
Hot Mama!
 
WildScribe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garlic City
Posts: 2,608
WildScribe has a golden reputationWildScribe has a golden reputationWildScribe has a golden reputationWildScribe has a golden reputationWildScribe has a golden reputationWildScribe has a golden reputation
Check out FreelanceWritingGigs.com.
__________________
~Trepan Fox Wildscribe~

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WildScribe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 10:23 PM   #7
Sheila33
New kid, be gentle!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Sheila33 is on a distinguished road
Its a content scraper, they find freelance jobs from various sites and bring them to you but there is a large monthly fee to use that site.
__________________
Freelance writing and Google program reviews: Freelance Home Writers, read before you start working, get the facts on Google Biz Kit, and Freelancehomewriters.com. More Reviews on Internet marketing and blogging, Maverick Money Makers.
Sheila33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 06:07 AM   #8
twnkltoz
AW Addict
 
twnkltoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 296
twnkltoz is well-respected
Waste of money and they spam you heavily. run.
__________________
My first book comes out in January! Learn more


twnkltoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Custom Search
Bellacor - Free Shipping and Handling  Grasshopper - The Entrepreneur's Phone System MacConnection iRobot - 10% Off All Parts & AccessoriesGo Green with OfficeMax! Environmentally Friendly Office Supplies, Technology, Paper & More.


All times are GMT +4.5. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.