Where to start?

MJRevell

www.mikerevell.com
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.mikerevell.com
I'm completely new to screenwriting - but it's something I'm really interested in getting into.

My question is, where to start?

Is it worth taking a short course to learn about the craft? I notice there are some interesting ones out there at places like Met Film School.

Can you learn just as much by reading and searching and sifting through the web?

Should I just find a load of scripts and devour them?

Maryn

Baaa!
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Your instincts are excellent. Start with reading screenplays, at least twenty of them. Read ones you've seen the movie of, and read ones you haven't. Read ones you suspect will be excellent, and read some you know will stink but got produced anyway. By the time you finish reading twenty screenplays, the format will seem natural (you can get Celtx software to emulate it, for free, or set tabs, or buy something, but I recommend starting with Celtx), you'll have an idea how character descriptions are worded and how detailed they are, you'll understand what can be in an action line and what can't, and lots of other basics.

After that, I'd work on identifying structures which are universal, at a level of detail beyond beginning, middle, end. Michael Hauge is one person whose work is available for study. (I use a version of it for novel organization.) You want to focus on setting up the world or situation as you introduce character, then add a desire/want/need and an obstacle to it. Your character will work toward that goal, usually with allies, and have setbacks, and will probably change from reacting to what happens to acting to make things happen. There will be a final push, and either it works or it does not. This is surprisingly universal, even though it sounds like action movies. (Plenty of romantic comedies fit the mold, for instance.)