Series Question

CrastersBabies

Burninator!
Registered
Reaction score
Many apologies if this has already been posted, but I could not for the life of me find what I was looking for with the search function.

In short . . .

We've heard of writers begin a series, get a few of a series published then suddenly are dropped by the publisher and are unable to conclude a series due to contract (no-competitive) clauses.

(Sorry if terminology is not exact, I'm still learning)

How can a writer protect him/herself from this happening? Is there a way to have something put in your contract that if your series does not reach its full potential through a specific publisher that you can go elsewhere? That you can self-publish?

Furthermore, let's say that I want to write multiple series in the same world and want the freedom to take me (and my characters and world) elsewhere should the publisher cut me off before my "world stories" are realized?

Forgive me if this is a really newbish question, but I'm genuinely curious!

Drachen Jager

Professor of applied misanthropy
Registered
Reaction score
Generally a well written contract with a publisher will have a clause that says if they fall below a certain number in sales/year the rights revert to the author.

So, if the series is doing well, they'll keep running it. If it's doing poorly they dump you and rights revert to you soon after.

No problem.

rugcat

Lost in the Fog
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jlevitt.com
CrastersBabies said:
We've heard of writers begin a series, get a few of a series published then suddenly are dropped by the publisher and are unable to conclude a series due to contract (no-competitive) clauses.
Generally a well written contract with a publisher will have a clause that says if they fall below a certain number in sales/year the rights revert to the author.