Pricing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jazen

Registered
Reaction score
I have a question on how to decide what is a fair price for your book.

I know Kindle as a suggested price tool and based on that it tells me I should charge $9.49 for my book. It's currently priced at $3.50.

As a new author, I don't think readers would be willing to sink nearly $10 into an unknown, but at the same time I don't want to short change myself.

I've plopped it into the romance genre (for now still working on finding the proper home) so I tried to price it for something comparable to other romances while taking into account my newbie status.

So when determining price how much does page count weigh into how much should be charged? In romance novellas are big and some are priced at $2.99 for less than 100 pages.

I'm currently working on a second book as a companion to the first and want to find a price that will be fair to both the reader and myself. Is it in bad form to raise the price of the first book and offer the second for a lower price? I know (or hope) book 2 will be shorter than book 1 therefore my logic says it should be priced lower.

Thanks for any feedback. :) Have a good day.

WriterBN

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.k-doyle.com
Check the prices of other self-published books in your subgenre/subcategory, and price accordingly. Keep it at that price for a few months, then try raising or lowering the price and see how it affects your sales.

Basically, "what the market will bear."

SBibb

Registered
Reaction score
Website
sbibb.wordpress.com
I've wondered about this myself. I guess the biggest thing I can say is that as the self-publisher, you're enable to play with pricing if one price doesn't work. Other than that... you could either experiment and see what happens, or try to find similar books and price accordingly.