Christian Fantasy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark W.

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Just wondering, do you consider Fantasy novels that explore Christian inspired themes to be Christian Fiction? That is kind of what my novel explores and so the question is one that intrigues me.

Thanks!

Pat~

Luftmensch Emeritus, A.D.D.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome, Mark! I'm not an expert on fantasy or fiction (Christian or otherwise), but my guess would be that it'd depend. Lol, how helpful is that! I'm thinking there are a lot of classic fantasy stories out there that loosely have "Christian" themes (good vs. evil, etc.), so I don't really know the industry standard on just how much of that rates a book a "Christian fantasy" title. You might check an agent or editor's blog (eg. Rachelle Gardner is a Christian agent looking for Christian fantasy) and ask them that question. I'd be interested in the reply, if you get one.

Ruv Draba

Banned
Reaction score
Hi Mark...

As a passing atheist I don't consider most fantasy with Christian themes to be exclusively Christian fiction. Ultimately, themes of devotion, sacrifice, forgiveness, humility and their opposites underpin a great deal of Western European fantasy, and remain a staple of fantasy literature today. Such themes can be found overtly in ancient classics like Le Morte d'Arthur, as well as early 20th century classics like those of C.S. Lewis and JRR Tolkien, and in the more recent fantasy of Julian May, Roberta A. McAvoy and others work directly with Christian concepts and symbols at times. If you write strong fantasy with deep Christian themes, you might be reaching two markets and not one.

Mr Flibble

They've been very bad, Mr Flibble
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
We couldn't possibly do that. Who'd clear up the m
Website
francisknightbooks.co.uk
What Ruv said.