Magic: The Gathering

Status
Not open for further replies.

dantefrizzoli

Banned
Spammer
Reaction score
I love this game. I've been playing this game since mid-1993. The funny thing is that I had taken a hiatus between 2000-2012, so I missed quite a lot. What does everyone think about the new rules, all the changes? Also, what does everyone think is going to be the new thing that the new set is going to introduce?

Edit: An 18000 year hiatus was a little longer than I expected.

Last edited:

jennontheisland

the world is at my command
Registered
Reaction score
This thread will get more action if it is moved to the Games section.

I took a break from 1994 to 2011. The game was totally different when I came back. I'm doing my first Conspiracy draft on Thurs. I like the game. I don't care either way what the new mechanics are and other than an irrational hatred of Myrs I don't really have any preferences for sets. It's fun to play and gets me talking to other humans once a week.

KateSmash

this was a triumph
Registered
Reaction score
Oh man, I was obsessed with this as a kid. Played since it debuted until shortly after the Portal expansion and simplified rules came out. Was that '97-ish? I seem to remember it being in middle school. (It became expensive and the boys (read: my brother and his idiot friend brigade) made playing it seriously unwelcoming.)

Then I met my husband, who was obsessed with it in HS, and did a lot of local tournament play when we first started dating. Until he was asked to quit because a) he was older than most of the local player and b) those younger kids started whining about his always winning. So we combined collections (minus the black bordered alpha and beta rares my brother stole from me and sold). But by then I was pretty over it (because brother) and he couldn't find anyone to play in college.