CONTRACT OR COLLABORATION?

tigerman13

Registered
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm a first time writer and would much appreciate advise as how to structure a freelance book writing agreement between myself (author) and the subject (who is also the client).

I will be writing a book for him about his field of expertise by interviewing him and doing extensive research. He will self publish it. At least initially.

I'm not confident we have a very unique or commercially viable work or subject (sort of a parody work in the genre), so I am asking to be paid a flat fee with revenue sharing.

Also, he doesn't really know what he wants in terms of an outline so I will have to research the subject and generate it as well as largely drive the entire process.

I'd love some advise on what type of agreement I such generate for this project...

a.) a writing collaboration with a section for the "advance" or flat fee

-or-

b.) freelance writing for hire contract with a profit sharing section

I have boiler plate templates for both contracts.

QUESTIONS:
1. What is the best and most appropriate contract to base the agreement?

2. Is it achievable to customize the contract without a lawyer? If not what is the most cost effective route to pursue in contract preparation?

3. Also, is there any book writing planning template, process or reference I can use to guide the process? I feel he wants to be involved in every last detail since we've never done this before and I'd prefer to guide the process and minimize redundancies to streamline the work process.

4. Should I send out a book writing proposal to get us on the same page? If so does anyone have a proposal template or know where i can find one?

Any other advise to prevent the pitfalls of being first time writer collaborating with a micromanager:) are greatly encouraged.

Thanks,

Tigerman13

Gillhoughly

Grumpy writer and editor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Getting blitzed at Gillhoughly's Reef, Haleakaloha