What exactly is the Alternate History genre?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LearningTwoWrite

Registered
Reaction score
Is it just giving ancient societies modern day technology? Just what if if a historical battle went a different way? Time travel to change the past?

Is it a "dead" genre? I don't see a lot of it but what I read I like plus it intrigues me.

A good story's never dead is it?

Alessandra Kelley

Sophipygian
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.alessandrakelley.com
I'm not an expert, but I think originally alternate history was taking a single historical event, changing its outcome, then extrapolating what would have happened if it had occurred. It was a kind of thought experiment.

Time travel stories are strictly fantasy, or sf if you can make a plausible, rigorous explanation.

Modern tech in ancient times I would consider a fantasy.

I don't know if alternate history is "dead". Harry Turtledove is still busy. And the interest in playing with historical events is recurrent.

SRHowen

Erotica is not a four letter word!
Registered
Reaction score
Alt History is taking an event that happened and changing the outcome. Say if Hitler won, or the south won the war, or if the Inca never fell, then going forward from the outcome changed event and telling the history of the new world.

thothguard51

A Gentleman of a refined age...
Registered
Reaction score
The Trojans won,
Hitler won WW2,
The Confederates won the Civil War,
The Russian Revolution never happened,
The French Revolution never happened,
The Cuban Missile crisis started WW3,
George Bush was never elected,
Al Gore didn't invent the Internet,

Pick something in history, (large or small), and make it so it never happened or ended differently...

CScottMorris

On a coffee fueled writing spree!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
cscottmorrisbooks.com