Hello AW

Thuro

I'm Batman
Registered
Reaction score
Hello AW'ers. First time poster, less-than-long-time lurker. First of I'd like to say nice forum. Its really nice to have a place where pro's and newbie writer's like me can hang out.

Secondly I'm posting to ask a question. Is there a guide to writing battles somewhere on this forum? I'm excellent at writing things like large scale battles but when it comes 1 on 1 duking out I fall short. So any help would be appreciated. Thanks for the help and making the community mcallister.

Booker

Sockpuppet
Banned
Reaction score
Welcome to the community Mcallister and AW

I'm an expert in other fields but just' you wait.....soon they'll come

Kerosene

Your Pixie Queen
Registered
Reaction score
Welcome!

There's a google custom search bar at the bottom of the page. Search whatever keywords you might have and you'll probably get a couple dozen threads talking about fight scenes.

IMO, large scale battles are boring and tedious to read. It's on my list of "What I skip".
Fights, as in 1 on 1, don't mix well with literature--not impossible, I find Brandon Sanderson to do them well, but very hard to pull of well. It's already hard for the reader to follow a single action, let alone a set of them in sequence.
My quick and dirty tips:
- Avoid blow by blow. "He slashed. She ducked. He turned in, and stabbed for her gut. She spun and whipped her knife around to his throat." That stuff gets tedious and boring quick. Try short spurts of actions, layered between dialogue, introspection, description and blocking.
- Focus more on the goals and motivations before the fight, and what resulted after it--possibly, how the fight is being carried out during so, like a boxing announcer explaining moves. All this greatly helps the fight outside of the actual combat.
- Use fights as the "last resort". The characters can only fight to live, or to save the princess and so on.

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered