I don't know where to begin, but I'm determined to begin.

Lynnetteviii

Registered
Reaction score

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the world of freelance writing and am finding it intimidating. I don't know where to begin, but I'm determined. This week I've created an Elance account and am working on a website, but haven't done much beyond that.

Part of the problem is in forging a new path. I've been in the corporate world my entire adult life. It hasn't always been bad, but my new boss and all of my co-workers are engineers. I have nothing against engineers (or people with severe personality disorders) but my boss is upset that I'm not obsessed with numbers or doing things by a set process. And that's okay, because I'm not. I'm obsessed with words. That's why I've been working every night for my MFA in creative writing.

Does anyone have any tips for starting out? Is it at all possible to make around $50,000 a year, or am I just dreaming?

I'm hoping some of my skills from my corporate life could help me out in finding writing jobs. I've worked at US WEST, Mountain Bell, Ericsson, and Xcel Energy.

I have a CFA Charter (Chartered Financial Analyst)
I have an MBA
I'm working on my MFA

What type of writing would be most profitable for me?

Thank you so much for any help or tips.

Last edited:

BenPanced

THE BLUEBERRY QUEEN OF HADES (he/him)
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score