Freelance Writer and Novelist--Angle to Take With Website?

andiwrite

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This forum has always been really helpful to me. I have some questions about the direction I should take with my website(s). Hopefully someone will know the best thing for me to do because I'm really new at all of this.

Basics are:

I'm a ghostwriter at a content mill as my day job. By night, I'm working hard my novels. I have one near ready for submission and I'm also in the early stages of working on a new scifi/horror series as well as some horror/fantasy short stories. My stories are my world. Finding success with them is my ultimate goal--but of course I must pay the bills in the meantime. Therefore, I've been looking to expand beyond the content mills and get some legitimately decent paying freelance work.

To do this, it seems I will need a blog/website to show clips of my work, post my resume, post my prices, etc. I will need this website to look professional and all that.

I guess what I'm asking is, how should a writer with my goals set up her website? Should I have two websites, one for my freelance business and another blog about my upcoming novels and life as a storyteller?

I'm definitely hesitant to make one blog all about me, because my novels are different from my freelance work. I write about health, insurance, business, SEO, medical stuff, etc for money. My novel subject matter includes sex, drugs, counter culture, zombie horror, alien invasions, etc.