Status
Not open for further replies.

infinitus_kaze

Brutally honest...to a fault
Registered
Reaction score
Website
michaelocheskey.com
Many publishers have their own editorial staff which will work with the author to make sure the manuscript is as close to perfect as it can be for print. I usually edit my works between 4-6 times and I'm currently looking for an agent. I was wondering, should I hire an independent editor to look through my work before submitting to an agent or if I should try to get an agent and let the editors at the publisher, if an agent can get me one, do the final editing of the book?

I'm new to the editor and agent market, so I'm not sure which way is best.

Will Lavender

Everything is what it seems.
Registered
Reaction score
You shouldn't hire anyone.

If your experience is anything like mine, both your agent and your editor will work extensively to make the book better. At this point, I've gone through nearly 10 pretty close edits of my manuscript. If your editor believes in the product enough to add you to his or her list, then he or she will have just as much of a vested interest in its "perfection" as you do.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
Editor

An agent and the editor who works for the publisher will help you get the novel the way they want it. All a hired editor can do is get the novel the way he wants it, which is seldom the same thing.

Garpy

keyboard monkey
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.scarrow.dsnet.co.uk
What Will said. You really shouldn't be forking out money to anyone.

From my experience, by all means refine a query 20-30-40 times, but once you've gone through your MS three or four times from beginning to end you should put it out there. If the idea, or the writing style is strong enough, you'll get taken on warts an' all.

I hate seeing writers throw money and years and years of their time at a book that just isn't going to sell. It's heartbreaking.

aruna

On a wing and a prayer
Registered