Chapter turned short story

Status
Not open for further replies.

Monomaniac

(o)
Registered
Reaction score
I have been querying agents for a couple of months now for my speculative fiction novel and haven't had much luck. I don't have any previous writing credentials and I was thinking about submitting an excerpt of my novel to a magazine such as FANTASY AND SCIENCE FICTION MAGAZINE. I would obviously rewrite it so that it's a stand alone short story. My question is: If I get it published in such a magazine, will there be any problems with me using the excerpt in my novel? Will the magazine own the rights to the piece? Will I have any problems if I finally get my book published?

geardrops

Good thing I like my day job
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.geardrops.net
I have been querying agents for a couple of months now for my speculative fiction novel and haven't had much luck. I don't have any previous writing credentials and I was thinking about submitting an excerpt of my novel to a magazine such as FANTASY AND SCIENCE FICTION MAGAZINE.

Are you subbing to SFF to generate writing credits?

SPMiller

Prodigiously Hanged
Registered
Reaction score
Website
seanpatrickmiller.com
Writers have done this before, but I'm not sure how the licensing works out. They don't even bother modifying the chapters.

But if you do intend to rewrite the chapter to stand alone, then there are no licensing issues. The short story version would differ markedly from the novel version--it would, by necessity, tell a different story--and they'd therefore be considered different works.

Last edited:

Izz

Doing the Space Operatic
Staff member
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.justgoodfiction.com
You also need to remember, Monomaniac, that F&SF might reject the story. So it'd be a good idea to have a list of markets you're thinking of submitting to, so you can fire it off somewhere else if it gets rejected.

Polenth

Mushroom
Registered
Reaction score
Website