Villains in Science Fiction and Fantasy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Conant

The Spiral King
Registered
Reaction score
R'lyeh, trying to wake up that useless Cthulhu.
Villains are always an interesting part of a story, whether it is science fiction or fantasy. This is mainly due to the fact that there is just so much to do with them. While heroes have to be somewhat similar to people so that we can empathize with them and understand their motivations (even if they're crazy), the villains have no such limitation (especially if they are crazy). The villains can be anything from ultimate evil to a whiny teenager with superpowers to a sinister milkmaid to a little girl in a wheelchair. And they still deliver on the evilness. I'm relatively new to writing, and through my stories, I have only dealt with an urbane villain, the whiny teenaged one, and the complete psychopath, but I wonder about the people who write for other genres of villainy. How do you make your villains evil? Why are they so evil, and how can you present it? Mainly, I'm wondering how something done so many different ways can always somehow be twisted to make something really, really creepy. So talk about your villains here (unless speaking their name might be taboo), because I'm curious.

And here's to the baddies, the underappreciated and always-necessary!

wannawrite

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.kcwildwood.net
I have a whiny teenager. Does that mean I live with a villan? Seriously, you have to humanize your villan. Make them a convincing blend of both good/evil. There is very little in this world that is pure black or white. If your villan kills a litter of puppies, people will hate him. But then have him go home and cook a meal for his/her invalid grandmother. People will still hate him, but they will relate. Then you will own them.

SPMiller

Prodigiously Hanged
Registered
Reaction score
Website
seanpatrickmiller.com