Do you listen to music when reading?

otterman

Word Voyeur
Registered
Reaction score
I'm someone who likes quiet background music when reading and, for years, have put something on to add to the experience. But something uncanny occurred about a year ago while I was reading Philip Pullman's His Dark Materials trilogy. I had just purchased Ron Sexsmith's Time Being cd and listened to it as I started the first book. It's a beautiful album and I found myself playing it night after night. I soon realized that the cd was a perfect soundtrack for the books. I don't mean Sexsmith's cd just has the similar flavor or atmosphere, I mean it is made for Pullman's books. The songs seem to tell the story.
I'm interested in knowing if you listen to music when you read and if you've ever had an experience like mine.

rugcat

Lost in the Fog
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jlevitt.com
Never.

I'm a musician; when I listen to music I listen. When I read, I read. Can you imagine getting a new CD by your favorite band, then choosing a book to read while you listen to it?

cletus

I'm a king bee
Registered
Reaction score
I listen to music while I read. I sometimes also watch TV, have conversations with my wife and various other things.

Reading is what I do when I can't clear away all the outside distractions that would disturb me if I was writing.

Nyna

Registered
Reaction score
I can play music in the background while I read, but I can't listen to it while reading. Unless it's seriously obnoxious it doesn't even register while I'm reading -- I mean, not at all. It becomes absolute white noise. So there's really no point... If I want to listen to a new CD and read a new book in one afternoon, I have to schedule them separately, as experience has taught me, or I'll only hear the very beginning of the very first song. At least, if the book's any good. Otherwise it might go the other way.

Reaction score