Getting rid of the bad guys

Witch_turtle

hanging around for a spell
Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a children's writer, though I always thought one day it would be something I would try my hand at. Well, I'm trying my hand at it today! But I'm struggling with one concept. For the most part it deals with fantasy/fairytale type stories, and what I'm writing is short fiction.

How do you deal with villains in children's stories? Having the main character gruesomely kill their adversary is pretty out of the question, but the reverse seems too...floofy. I mean, having the villain be frightened away, or have a change of heart, or whatever, just makes it feel like they could never have been that big of a problem to begin with. I never liked stories where the villains turned out to be not-so-bad when I was a child anyways, so I don't want to write one like that.

I'm sure I'll come up with something once I think it through a bit more, but since I'm new to this type of writing I'm curious to hear other people's opinions on it. How do you handle taking care of villains? How do you let your MC do something awesome and heroic without crossing the line into "too mature"?

bclement412

Registered
Reaction score
Exactly what age are you writing for? I know 8-12 year olds that play gruesome killing video games, so don't underestimate your audience.

sissybaby

Registered
Reaction score
You can get away with gruesome, depending on the approach. Dorothy melted the witch in TWOO, after the witch attempted to burn her friend to death. That's all pretty gruesome, if you ask me. But I have always loved that story, especially as a child. It scared me half to death back then, but it never gave me nightmares.

Try reading Neil Gaiman if you want gruesome. I don't know who else to recommend at this time, but I know others here will probably share.

Good luck!

Sissy

Witch_turtle

Registered
Reaction score