How do i know what to charge?

storylady

Registered
Reaction score
I am super excited because I just got my very 1st freelance writing gig. I will be writing 4 articles per month - 500-700 words each? I do have a little problem because I have no clue what to charge?? Like I said it's my 1st writing job so I do not want to charge to much but then again I do not want to sell myself sort either. Can anyone give me a good start out range on what I should be charging for blog & articles? Thanks

storylady

Registered
Reaction score
5 cents a word is very, very low...don't forget about the time you'll spend researching, editing, etc, you need to charge more to compensate for that.

Thanks. I am new to this world so I am trying to be reasonable. Everywhere I read, it just says ask for what you are worth but does not give an average on what people charge per word. I want to start low so I can learn as I go but also do not want to start 2 low because that shows I am new & not confident in my skills. May I ask what you charge? I know I will not be able to ask as much as you because I see you have much more experience but it would give me a good idea on where I should start. Thank you so much!

Millicent M'Lady

Exploring the infinite abyss
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Sheena,

What you will be paid will probably be based on a few things such as, is it online or print? Is it a well-established publication and does it have a large readership? Have you already been assigned the articles or are they waiting for you to cite a price first?

Congratulations, by the way!:)

Last edited:

storylady

Registered
Reaction score
Hi Sheena,

What you will be paid will probably be based on a few things such as, is it online or print? Is it a well-established publication and does it have a large readership? Have you already been assigned the articles or are they waiting for you to cite a price first?

Congratulations, by the way!:)