How do you know you're a good writer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Coco82

Registered
Reaction score
Is it a feeling in each and every one of us? I feel I'm a capable and adept writer, w/o sounding arrogant. Do you just know it or what. Please elaborate as much as possible.

SRHowen

Erotica is not a four letter word!
Registered
Reaction score
Hmmm--I guess I always knew I was a good story teller, or I would n'thave spent so much time in the corner for talking about made up stuff.

I knew on my last novel that it was it. It was the one. Hard to explain--as it was a feeling.

Sorry, not much help. Guess it's when others say holly cow this is good, or when a beta reader can't find anything wrong.

Shawn

Deanna Lee

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.deannaleebooks.com
Am I a good writer?

Yep, I sure am. :D

It's probably arrogant, but I think to get to the point where you send material to editors and agents... you have to believe totally in yourself and in your work.

So go ahead...be arrogant.

Being shy and retiring sure didn't get Stephen King where he is now.

Mistook

Neverending WIP
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
Okay, brag time! :Clap:

Let's put it this way, I have a long-lived reputation for being engaging, insightful, and clear.

---------

* In grade school, my ability to make milk shoot through the noses of my classmates was unprecidented.

* In high school, I was a straight A English student.

* Dropping out of college, my creative writing teacher gave me an A for her course even though I'd only shown up to three classes, and had taken no tests. She based it on what she'd seen of my work the semester before.

* As a drop-out, reading humorous-prose at coffeehouses in Chicago, I always brought down the house.

* As a web based nature-columnist (I did this on a whim, years before Blogger was invented) I had a small crowd of avid readers who would send e-mails literally begging me to write more often.