Is this ridiculous?

Status
Not open for further replies.

plexxx

I worked as a technical writer for a few years before choosing to (successfully) pursue freelance editing and writing. Yes, it's a pain dealing with uncommunicative clients, and no, I don't make as much as I did working full time, but I'm much happier. That said, I don't object to returning to full-time work IF it's the right job. Thankfully, I have the luxury of being picky.

I was contacted by Company X's HR rep in regard to a technical writer position, and I was honest in saying it didn't sound like a position I was interested in, but the rep convinced me to come in and learn more about it. So, I went into the interview with no desire to get the job, meaning, of course, they offered it to me the next day.

Honestly, it's not a bad job and there's a lot of potential to do interesting work, but the hours are incredibly off-putting: a 50-hour work week (10-hour days). Is that normal for corporate jobs now? Also, the salary they offered is $47,000. That seems kind of low for such a long work week, at least to me. Is it?

I can't see taking this job, but I'm curious if the work week and salary are typical for tech writer positions in the NYC area now?

Good Word

still crazy after all these years
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.wordmountain.com
I'm in the Boston area, which is a little different than NYC but not that much, and that sounds on the very low side to me, especially for corporate. Is it software? Unless it's a little better than entry-level, that sounds kinda lame.

Tish Davidson

Registered
Reaction score
Is it computer tech writing? I'm in Silicon Valley and it is low for there.

Xopher

Registered
Reaction score