Pen name troubles - I'm an artist (drawing), author, AND I write in different genres...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fantasy_trader

New Fish; Learning About Thick Skin
Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I've got a bit of a problem and I need to solve it as quickly as possible. The situation is this:

- I've just had my drawings put onto products (iPad cases, iPhone cases, mugs, bags, T-shirts) for charity and I've just got some prints framed up which I plan on selling myself online and offline to make some money for myself.

- I've written a 30k word science fiction book for 10-12 year olds, a 50k travel memoir about a 550 mile hike I took, I'm 45k into a YA fantasy novel and I'm getting started on a new science fiction book for a 'grown up' audience.

- My name is Matthew Jones, which is way to common, unmemorable, is 'taken' by other famous Matthew Joneses and would be very difficult to rank in Google for.

So, what on earth do I do?

In an ideal world I'd prefer to use my real name, have one Website that sold all my books and drawings/drawing related products.

A level down from this ideal world I would have one Website with a pen name/pseudonym for the art and another Website under a different pen name for my books. But so far I've written in SF, fantasy, travel memoir and for different age groups. I expect to continue in these genres though it's possible I will expand into academic writing providing I stay intrigued by Philosophy once I've finished my undergraduate degree on it.

This has become important now because my art has just been put onto charity products here (http://www.cafepress.co.uk/TheLadybugProject - if you'd like to see it) and so I need to get a Website put together as soon as possible because they are giving me credit for the designs. In other words I'm launching as an artist and I don't have a Website ready and I don't know how to proceed because of also being an aspiring author who may need multiple pen names anyway!