The Agent Moves: A Problem

foamhands

pro-stars, pro-sky
Registered
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been querying my novel for a few months. Several agents requested the full, and a few requested the partial,so I'm feeling very positive about this book.

The thing is, one of the first agents I queried--one of my very favorite prospects--was very encouraging once he received the full manuscript over three months ago. He sent an email about a week after I'd sent it saying he was enjoying it, then another email about a week after that saying it was great and he'd be in touch when he was done. Guess what, though? He didn't get in touch.

I didn't want to be crazy, so I just waited. I didn't want to pester him or be annoying in any way. Another important thing to note--he has just moved to a pretty big agency after being on his own for a while (this happened a few weeks ago.)

Now I'm getting some promising correspondence from another agent who has been reading, and I thought it would be a great opportunity to get back in touch with this original guy, the one I liked so much and had really hight hopes for. So I emailed him almost two weeks ago now to check in and I've heard nothing back.

Should I assume it's some kind of agency change email glitch?

Is he just really busy?

Should I assume that he hates me and never wants to hear from me again?

Do I wait to contact him more aggressively once I have a solid offer?

Help!

Old Hack

Such a nasty woman
Super Moderator
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
I suspect that his silence means he's not interested: but I'd wait and see, and if you do get an offer from elsewhere, let him know.

Putputt

permanently suctioned to Buz's leg
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score