Newbie // Looking for Beta Readers? Look no further.

eyedrip

i write, therefore i am
Registered
Reaction score
Hello hello hello!

Glad I could join this continuously growing pool of tools and knowledge. I honestly think it's amazing!

I'm a writer based in Los Angeles, CA. Although I grew up writing screenplays, I published my first novel last year -- I wanted to make my stories 'reader friendly' as it's common knowledge no one enjoys reading a script in California. Books? Different story - ha! 'story'. There's something incredibly empowering about being able to compile all your efforts into this tiny rectangle, and then sending it out into the world, like a forever orbiting satellite, ready and accessible for your eyes, my eyes, everyone's eyes!

I published my 2nd book a few months ago, and just finished my third (currently undergoing rewrites and what not), so I have a bit of "free reading time" in my hands. That being said... any writers out there looking for beta readers, hit me up!

Some info regarding my own books and my reading interests:

My first two novels, "R³" (a sci-fi mind-bending thriller) and "GROUNDED: The Untold Story of Peter Pan & Captain Hook" (a dark fairytale exploring the beginnings of Peter and Hook's relationship) are both available on Amazon.com.

I'm a huge Haruki Murakami fan. Magical realism pikes my interest. Novels with a great use of prose (Donna Tart would be a good example; anyone read The Goldfinch? Loved the writing, didn't care for the story... sorry, I digress...). Occasionally some Chuck Palahniuk. David Sedaris. "House of Leaves". Sci-fi in general. Bret Easton Ellis. Dostoevsky. I never jumped on the Harry Potter or Narnia wagon, but I enjoyed reading the The Hunger Games trilogy. But I'm generally open to any compelling story that will catch my attention. If it's dark, even better!

With that in mind... show me what you've got!!!

Thanks in advance, and hope to be reading some of your work :)