Hi, I'm new.

hikarinotsubasa

Human, last I checked
Registered
Reaction score
If there's a bright center to the universe...
Hello. I'm new around here so I thought I'd make a brief introductory post.

My handle is hikarinotsubasa, internet friends usually call me Hikari. If I ever publish or self-publish anything it will likely be under a pen name. I've had some bad experiences with people trying to psychoanalyze me based on my fiction writing, and I'd prefer to keep my family and most of my RL friends out of it because of that.

What do I write? Good question... I've always been writing something. The bulk of what I have written up to now, if you count scribblings in high school notebooks and things like that, has probably been science fiction and fantasy. That's most of what I read as well.

I also read YA, suspense, and mainstream fiction... pretty much anything. I'm not really into erotica, I guess, or fiction that's obviously pushing a political or religious agenda... other than that, I'm pretty flexible.

My current project would probably actually be classified as GLBT romance... although since I'm not usually a romance reader and don't know the genre well, I'm pretty sure what it actually is is "Totally unmarketable to anyone other than me."

In other words, I write a lot of different things. I don't know that it's my goal necessarily to become a professional writer or to make any money with my work (and I hope that doesn't make me unwelcome here). If something I write turns me into an instant millionaire, I'll be thrilled! But more than anything else, I remember staying up late, hiding under the covers with a good book, laughing and crying and cheering along with the characters, and my only real goal with any of this is maybe to evoke some of those feelings in others.