Send or not send clips??

Umgowa

Registered
Reaction score
I am new at this but I do have a few articles published. My question is this . . . Some publications, in their guidelines and profiles in Writer's Market do not ask for clips. . . .just a query. So do I go ahead and send my clips anyway? Or does that look too braggadocious? Do I just send my query without the clips since they did not ask for any? Thanks for any feedback.

scorpiodragon

Black belt in awesome
Registered
Reaction score
If they specifically say they don't want to see clips don't send clips. With a lot of places you don't even get considered if they see you haven't followed their guidelines.

Your query will have to be what sells you and you can work in the background/skills you have that make the idea appealing.

Umgowa

Registered
Reaction score
If they specifically say they don't want to see clips don't send clips. With a lot of places you don't even get considered if they see you haven't followed their guidelines.

Your query will have to be what sells you and you can work in the background/skills you have that make the idea appealing.

I've never seen any guidelines that say specifically not to send clips . . . that is not the issue. I'll repeat what I said . . . . If they don't say to send clips, if it's just not said to forward clips . . . then what do I do? Do I go ahead and send clips anyway to sort of brag or puff myself up, sell myself? Or do I just not send clips because they did not explicitly say to "send clips"?

gettingby

Registered
Reaction score
I usually just drop a few names of where my stories have appeared.

Also, I can't see how it would ever hurt you to send clips even if they are not asked for.

scorpiodragon

Black belt in awesome
Registered
Reaction score