• Guest please check The Index before starting a thread.

Bresnick Weil Literary Agency (formerly Paul Bresnick Lit. Agency)

Leonidas

sui generis
Registered
Reaction score
This is the first time I've ever started a new thread. I checked the agent index first and found no thread for Paul Bresnick, so assumed it is all right to create one.

I'm thinking of querying him, but I'd like to find out a bit more about him before I do. He has no separate web site, but does have a site at PM:

http://www.publishersmarketplace.com/members/paulbresnick/

At first glance this site makes him look fairly impressive. It lists 9 sales for 2009 and quite a few racked up for 2010 and 2011. But I'm new at this and fear that I might not be reading it right. First, are these numbers of sales considered good for an agency with one or two agents, as his outfit seems to be? Second, if these numbers ARE considered very good, why does P+E not give him a "Recommended"? (It does give him a $.) Should I assume that P+E is not up-to-date and still forming an opinion of Mr. Bresnick? I'm not very adept at judging these things yet, so I would be thankful for any input I can get. Thanks much.

M.R.J. Le Blanc

aka Sadistic Mistress Mi-chan
Registered
Reaction score
P&E gives agents either a 'recommended' or 'not recommended' based on the reports they get on said agent. By only listing a $, all they're saying is that this agent has confirmed sales. They don't have an opinion either way of whether he's good or bad. If he's got confirmed sales for books to be released in 2010 and 2011 that's usually a pretty good sign. It means he's selling. And judging by some of the publisher's he's sold to, he's making really good sales. Lots of really big names. He looks good to me.

Leonidas

sui generis
Registered
Reaction score
Thanks so much M.R.J. I'm glad to hear that you, too, think he looks good. I probably will go ahead and query him.

pavtbr

Registered
Reaction score