Goal: Write Articles, start freelancing, and start work on new novel idea.

Sean D. Schaffer

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have basically a three-fold goal this time. One, I want to write an article every week. Two, I want to get into the freelancing arena. Three, I want to start work seriously on a novel idea I came up with in the last week or two.

I already have a couple articles written, but I have very little knowledge of the freelancing business. I plan on doing a lot of research in the next few days and seeing if I can't order Jenna's book, Make a Real Living as a Freelance Writer. The thing about the book is, I don't get paid for another two weeks and won't be able to order the book for some time. But I do plan on getting into the business as best I can over the next few weeks.

Finally, my novel is a Fantasy/Erotica work, so far. I have some basic ideas written down, but I haven't touched the project in several days. It will be a real matter of discipline for me to get back into novel-writing gear and see if I can't actually finish this piece instead of trunking it like I've done with every project for the last three WIPs. If I have to trunk it because of flaws or the work otherwise not working, so be it. But I really would like to get the work actually done at least to the first draft's completion.

So basically, that's my three-fold goal. I'm going to try to write for at least an hour a day, and hopefully I'll be able to crank out 250 words at a minimum in that period of time.

brainstorm77

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Sounds like great goals to me :)

JanDarby

Registered
Reaction score
A few years ago, I did a "submission of the month plan," to work on developing a thick skin. I vowed to submit something -- a short story, an essay, an article, a partial, whatever, as long as it was outside my comfort zone (i.e., submitting a legal document to an existing client didn't count) -- every single month of the year.