Status
Not open for further replies.

WolfgangNibori

En Route
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.twitter.com
I'm new to AW so if I missed this posted elsewhere, please forgive. What I'm wondering is, when I send out a query and I get a reply that says basically "no thanks" do I reply? I've gotten both posted and e-mail rejections. I was under the impression that replying to a rejection simply wastes an agent's time and may make you look like a nag.

Any ideas?

blackpen

Bizzare in Berkeley
Registered
Reaction score
I absolutely agree with Deadly. Deadly is dead on.

rwam

Registered
Reaction score
On queries? I wouldn't bother. They probably won't answer and it could land you on their 'blocked email' lists hurting your future chances.

On partials and fulls, though? There's nothing wrong with sending a quick email thanking them for taking the time to read your stuff. It's when you ask them for more reasons why they rejected you, or "if I fix this will you represent me?" type things that bug the crap out of them.

If you do decide to respond to a rejection, however, always do yourself a favor and sleep on it overnight....never respond during the heat of initial reaction.

:)

WolfgangNibori

En Route
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.twitter.com
Thanks, rwam :)

Good to know I've apparently been on the right track. I feel bad enough sending queries so I'm certainly not going to pester the agents any more than I need to. I don't mind rejection and in fact expected LOTS more form letter replies than I've gotten (SO FAR).

Giant Baby

Oh, the humanity.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Typically, definitely not- for all the reasons stated above. It's only irritating to the agent to have another email to dispose of.