Where to start?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RaineeRose

We're moving on...
Registered
Reaction score
I'm new to writing biographies, and I was hoping a seasoned writer could tell me his or her experiences with this kind of writing. I'm planning to write a biography of my father, but I'm not sure how to go about it. Any advice or tips for this fiction writer will be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

MadScientistMatt

Empirical Storm Trooper
Registered
Reaction score
Website
madscientistmatt.blogspot.com
Not a seasoned writer myself, but I do have one question. Ok, so it's a question I feel like expanding upon. Is this biography one that is meant just for your family, the sort of thing with a limited readership? Or is your father the sort who is famous enough or has enough of an extraordinary story that thousands of people might walk into a bookstore and want to hear his story? How to go about this depends on your audience.

If you're writing a biography for just your family, you might want to give a detailed account of his life starting from birth. Then get it printed by a POD company or print shop depending on just how many copies you need.

If it's a mass market book for a commercial publisher, your focus will probably be different. Tell a story. If he's a celebrity, the story would be of how he acquired fame and fortune. If he's less well known but has some interesting story of how he did something extraordinary, your plot should revolve around that, and pick up where the story begins.

RaineeRose

We're moving on...
Registered
Reaction score