Hello from an illustrator looking for a writer (co-author)!

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrisemersonnc

Registered
Reaction score
5359385290_23ebd5d7be_m.jpg
5374326540_52300c83fa_m.jpg
5358756807_b1cf160bf3_m.jpg
5181700571_39a9e61ea3_m.jpg

Hello everyone - my name is Chris and I'm an illustrator/designer. I've always wanted to explore writing children's books (fiction) but A.) I'm not a trained writer so I don't know how to start or B.) how to find a co-author/writer to help me and C.) I've been told it's not worth the money so don't bother. However - I'm hoping I can solve [A] and by exploring these forums and as far as [C] goes - honestly I don't care about that - I simply want to explore what's possible regardless of $ right now.

I have one book idea already (possibly a series) I'm chomping at the bit to flesh out but alas... I am not a trained writer so I don't know where to begin (on my own or how to find a co-author/writer partner)!

Some of my more recent illustrative work can be seen here: http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=artwork and iphone&w=29888206@N05

If anyone knows where to point a newbie in my situation feel free to chime in!

Thanks

- Chris

Smish

Reads more than she writes.
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Picture book writers generally don't choose the illustrator. The publisher chooses.

You may want to consider joining the SCBWI (Society for Children's Book Writers and Illustrators), a well-respected, international organization. Members are given lots of educational materials, access to the SCBWI website (a forum, kind of like this one), a subscription to the SCBWI Bulletin, the opportunity to attend regional and national conferences and events, etc. It's a great organization (yes, I'm a member).

Also, check out the Writing for Kids section here at AW, particularly the stickies. You'll learn a lot about picture book writing/illustrating over there.

Welcome to AW!

CACTUSWENDY

An old, sappy, and happy one.