starting print version of my news site

Status
Not open for further replies.

ketanco

Registered
Reaction score
I have a news website since few years about a tech subject and now I want to start a magazine on paper.
I am a beginner on this field and have the following questions:
1-How can I get the information about what should I charge for ads? I will need this when I start calling advertisers.
2-How can I make my magazine displayed on news stands or bookstores? I mean I will also contact them but wanted to ask here too.
3-For printing, what do you recommend? A service to use or buying a printer and doing it myself?

J. Tanner

Registered
Reaction score
Website
authorjtanner.wordpress.com
1. Ads are generally based on circulation. You'll typically need to show your circulation first (or offer ads for free). As an unknown quantity you aren't likely to be able to sell advertising at the outset. Revise your plans.
2. You generally can't, at least not in the broad circulation way. You generally have to build up from local, often independent, stores. Most small press magazines rely entirely on direct sales and internet marketing.
3. I recommend starting as an electronic publication and seeing if there's an audience for your content. You can branch out into printing, but it's much more expensive and you can't really "do it yourself". Just use your local phone-book to find a local printer and go down and talk to them. Take a magazine off the shelf that is similar to what you're looking for and get a quote. Get 3-4. Do the math. Figure out how much you lose if you can't sell them. Unless you're independently wealthy, the investment involved is going to look daunting I'd guess.

ketanco

Registered
Reaction score
i forgot to mention that my website which is up for several years have about 20K visitors per month already. on my facebook fan page there are 1.2 K people...so for question 1 how does your answer change?