Formal Education Level

Status
Not open for further replies.

frankiebrown

Simplify.
Registered
Reaction score
I am a college student, currently studying exercise science. My curriculum in exercise science hasn't done doodly-squat for my writing, but I was a journalism major once upon a time, and I know that helped to expand my "writer's consciousness" simply by forcing me to write about things that would have otherwise bored me to tears.

Just a matter of curiosity - what's the highest level of formal education you've endured, and has it helped to develop your writing?

quicklime

all out of fucks to give
Banned
Reaction score
PhD in bio, and yes, it helped, but not because it reinforced "good" writing habits.....it taught me something close to a parallel language, and being aware of that instead of changing everything completely was what helped.

Beachgirl

Not easily managed
Registered
Reaction score
Bachelor in Environmental Science. I think my experiences since then have helped my creativity more than the actual education. For instance, my current series takes place in and around the Everglades. I would never have even thought about using it as a location without having spent time working there.

CrastersBabies

Burninator!
Registered
Reaction score
M.F.A. (fiction) and M.Ed. (Adult Ed / focus on narrative theory and transformational learning).

The M.F.A. helped, sure. The M.Ed. Naw. Mostly just project planning, curriculum creation, educational theory, etc. If anything, the M.Ed. has helped my writing by forcing me to write something truly dry and ultra-academic. It makes me crave creativity so that by the time I got home from class, I had to crank out some words for myself.

frankiebrown

Simplify.
Registered
Reaction score
Awesome, thanks for the input y'all.