Short books are in style

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danger Jane

Registered
Reaction score
Oh man, I hope so. Novella seems to be my favorite length, after all.

Anthony Matias

Registered
Reaction score
I would have to say yes Trish. All facets of our lives are becoming more and more streamlined; specifically technology and food. People today want everything NOW and it is only a matter of time for books to fall under that umbrella. There isn't enough time to read 1500 pages for the average "Joe". He/She wants to be able to sit down and in a couple of hours, be done with a book.

Is this good or bad? I don't know, but as a writer I don't mind because there is no way I could write anything more than 300 pages! :)

ToddWBush

Banned
Reaction score
Website
www.myspace.com
One of the people I had read my second draft is what we might call a "normal person who reads on occasion." He's in the military and reads most of his books when he either gets deployed to the Big Sandbox, or when he's on temporary duty (TDY to those in the military know) and away from his wife. He told me that he is discouraged from reading books in the genre that appeals to him most (thriller/suspense) because of the size of the books. The average Flynn or Thor ranks in at between 350-400 pages.

He loved my book (yes, he's surely biased) because it's, using the 250 words/page formula, about 250 pages. He said if he saw it on the shelf he'd be more likely to pick it up because it was smaller and he wouldn't get lost or would be able to finish it while on his downtime on assignment.

So yes, I agree...

Phaeal

Whatever I did, I didn't do it.
Registered
Reaction score