I'm as bad at subject headings as I am titles

AllisonK

Crazy Cat Lady
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.allisonkraft.com
Hello there! Another newbie here. I've looked around a little and this seems like a fun place with a lot of great people, so I'm happy to start settling in! It's been a while since I've been part of a message board community like this, and I'm quickly realizing how much I've missed it.

A little about me: I grew up outside of Chicago, but have lived in Florida for the past 21 years. I've been writing since the late 90s, though I didn't start writing novels until about 2001/2002. Before that, I dabbled mostly in fanfiction. Yes, I said it. I wrote fanfiction. (Hey, everyone has to start somewhere, right? I even wrote some Orlando Bloom fanfic, so I was amused when I saw some of the profile questions. :)) It wasn't long before I got tired of writing someone else's characters and wanted to write my own, so here I am. I have 3 novels completed, in various stages of revision and another about 75% done. Most have a paranormal angle (vampires, ghosts, time travel, etc.) because that's what I've always loved to read.

I'm not published yet, but I'm in the process of getting my first novel ready for self-publishing. I tried the traditional route first, but got impatient and am now aiming for the indie route because if I wait much longer, the premise of the book will be outdated (it's centered around the 100th anniversary of the sailing/sinking of the Titanic, which is next year. When I wrote the first draft, that was 10 years in the future. My, how time flies!)

On a more personal note, I have 4 cats, am addicted to TV and dabble in various types of design. I also love cheese, though sadly, my family is not connected to those Krafts. :tongue

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
hello.gif

Take some time and read the Newbie Guide and the Stickies found