Play by feel

Caitlin Black

Wild one
Registered
Reaction score
Anyone here play an instrument by feel? Like, you don't memorise a piece of music, but instead "know" what you can do with your instrument and so can learn a piece of music by listening to it a few times (or maybe you read the music, I don't know) but you just play by feel?

I'm just wondering because I'm self-taught, and can't read music, and I'm slowly getting to know everything I can do with my guitar and memorising it not by, "Okay, that's an A note at such-and-such a fret," or whatever, but memorising it by feel and practice.

And if you learned to play by feel in this way, and then, after getting proficient by practicing a lot, learned to read music - did this pose an extra difficulty, trying to figure out what "feel" parts are what "written music" parts? Like, I can play about 4 seconds of music in a variety of ways, and know how to do it each and every way and can ALMOST do it on command every time... but if I was shown the written music to one of those 4-second patterns, I'd be stumped.

Do you think it's harder to learn written music once you've learned by feel? Do you think learning both is absolutely necessary?

And if you learned by feel, and then took, say, a guitar lesson from a professional teacher, would you fumble and not be able to perform, and have a really hard time of it, possibly pissing off the teacher if you've already said, "Yeah, I can play a few songs," and then because of actually being taught what it is you're doing, instead of just feeling it, you somehow can't do it?

Sorry if none of this makes sense. It's not that important a question, just something I was thinking about. Mostly because I just noticably improved at guitar, and I still don't know what it is I did, except as a feeling.

Discussion?

BardSkye

Barbershoppin' Harmony Whore
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score