Happy Birthday Grace Hopper

Cranky

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Admiral Hopper! I'm no computer person, and my time with the Navy postdates hers, but you bet I know who *she* is. Full of win, that lady, and she has all my admiration. ETA: Though sadly, I suppose I should use "was" rather than "is". But still. She was a role model for a lot of Navy women.

mirandashell

Banned
Reaction score
That's where I found her. So I googled her and realised what an amazing woman she was.

patrickwong

Author, Computer Guy, Dad
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.facebook.com
Happy Birthday!

Thank you for mentioning her today - I'm a software developer and am familiar with her contributions.

Interesting item (it's mentioned in the wiki article link) - she popularized the terms bug and debugging.
While she was working on a Mark II Computer at a US Navy research lab in Dahlgren, Virginia in 1947, her associates discovered a moth stuck in a relay and thereby impeding operation, whereupon she remarked that they were "debugging" the system. Though the term bug had been in use for many years in engineering[37][38] to refer to small glitches and inexplicable problems, Admiral Hopper did bring the term into popularity.

Happy Birthday !

benbradley

It's a doggy dog world
Registered
Reaction score
She's featured on today's google doodle.
Oh Noes, COBOL (Which Grace was a big part of developing, of course)! It was (and still is) the most wordy and English-like computer programming language ever, created so that managers could allegedly read the code that programmers write. This was one of the two big computer languages that were in demand in the late 90s to for programmers to make "Y2K" fixes in old computer programs that used only two digits for the year (the other was FORTRAN).