The book is dead

Status
Not open for further replies.

Procrastinista

Registered
Reaction score
Well, the paper one, that is. Just heard from my college textbook publisher they will discontinue printing paper books in 2015. The company is the largest publisher of U.S. college textbooks. All sales will be e-books. Keep in mind that the true customers of textbooks are professors--they select the book--and many of them are quite old (me included). Not exactly a group who's pushing tech products forward. So, if the textbook market is heading in this direction, I think it's pretty obvious novels will too.

Actually, I'm surprised it's taken this long, considering the music industry changed over quite some time ago.

ralf58

shhh, I'm writing
Registered
Reaction score
I come at this from the other end. I'm a freelance educational writer, and I've been getting a lot of work the last few years helping the conversion of print textbooks to ebooks.

I wouldn't immediately assume that what happens to textbooks will immediatly happen to novels. Here's why:

First of all, many textbooks are huge and heavy. Kids have had back problems lugging all of them around. And students don't feel attached to them emotionally they way they might to a much-loved story. So they have less resistance to switching to electronic textbooks over print books.

Seconds, textbooks and novels serve two different functions. Reading expository text to retain facts is a vastly different experience than reading a story to get lost in it.