I Thought I'd Share my Story with my Fellow Writers.

Status
Not open for further replies.

EELawless

Registered
Reaction score
I’m new to the Absolute Write forums but have been visiting them for several years. Ever since I was 12-years-old, I’ve been freelancing and writing short stories, novels, and screenplays…you could say I’m a semi-professional writer. For years, however, I’ve been carrying a struggle on my shoulders. I thought it’d be nice to vent to like-minded people who’ve probably had the same frustrations. It might come off as sappy in some parts, but I want to share my story, nevertheless, and would like to hear about your experiences as well.

Five years ago, in 2008, I finished my first true novel. It was a gangster/thriller story about a group of vigilantes, and though it wasn’t the first novel I’d written, it was the first one I’d ever finished and fully rewritten. I enjoyed writing it, and while I mainly wrote it to see what I could do and where I could go with my talents, I was eager to get it published.

Thus, I began sending out query letters. I had never done so before, so I only sent out one-or-two letters a day. When the rejections started rolling in, though, I soon began sending out anywhere from five-to-ten queries a day, depending on who I could find. After almost a year of sending out queries, I received exactly 264 rejection letters…and those were merely the letters I had actually received. Only one partial was requested, but it was rejected the next day. The only people even remotely interested were vanity publishers, including one who wanted $8,000 to publish it. I’d be lying if I said I hadn’t considered it.

I didn’t care, though, to be honest. Like I mentioned, I mainly write my first novel to see where I could go with it. I’d learned a lot in a year, and I wanted to go farther.