Becoming a tech writer?

poetinahat

say it loud
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Dear technical writers,

I've been looking at (well, staring in the face of) a career change, and I'm in the IT industry. As it happens, I love to write, and I believe I do it well.

I have no background in technical writing. But I love to write, and I believe I do it well.

What advice would you give to someone like me?

Gratefully,

poetinahat.

Deleted member 42

Start writing procedures/technology stuff on a blog. Do it seriously.

Start reading current tech books of the sort you're interested in writing.

Come up with a book proposal for a book that doesn't exist, and submit it to the publisher you'd most like to write for. (N.B. some don't pay as well as others; some are pretty awful to work for, but heh, it's paying work).

amergina

Pittsburgh Strong
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.annazabo.com
Pretty much what Medi said.

If you work for a tech company, talk to the tech writing folks there. Also ask your manager if there's any internal engineering documentation that needs to be done.

One of the greatest assets of a technical writer, aside from the communications skills, is the ability to learn new technology/information fast, then turn around and teach it. So if you're background allows you to do that, you're halfway there.

RockiesFellow

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.forest-to-foothills.com
Dear technical writers,

I've been looking at (well, staring in the face of) a career change, and I'm in the IT industry. As it happens, I love to write, and I believe I do it well.

I have no background in technical writing. But I love to write, and I believe I do it well.

What advice would you give to someone like me?

Gratefully,

poetinahat.
I made the switch from software engineer to technical writer a few years ago. It's not really a huge leap. Depending on the size of your company, you may be able to change roles internally.