Quoting Lit in Textbook

trocadero

Registered
Reaction score
Website
carolynwoulfe.livejournal.com
I usually write fiction, but as a 20-plus year teacher, I've got a great idea for a textbook. I'd like to include a large number of quotes from MG/YA novels. Each quote would only be one sentence. I can see how these kinds of quotes are cited in textbooks, but I'm wondering if I need to get permission in order to include them. Is attribution enough? Thanks!

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
I usually write fiction, but as a 20-plus year teacher, I've got a great idea for a textbook. I'd like to include a large number of quotes from MG/YA novels. Each quote would only be one sentence. I can see how these kinds of quotes are cited in textbooks, but I'm wondering if I need to get permission in order to include them. Is attribution enough? Thanks!

Yes, you'd need permissions for each.

veinglory

volitare nequeo
Self-Ban
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.veinglory.com
It really depends, as this is a textbook fair use would potentially apply. I would proceed on that basis but expect a discussion about this with the publisher

cornflake

Registered
Reaction score
It really depends, as this is a textbook fair use would potentially apply. I would proceed on that basis but expect a discussion about this with the publisher

Textbooks, while educational, are commercial enterprises, which is why I answered the way I did, but VG is right - a publisher's legal staff would know.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
By and large, textbooks do fall under far use, whether the books are commercial, or not, but you never know for sure. I do know anyone can quote small, and I mean small, portions of any book for nonfiction use, textbook or not. I've done so many times. So have many reviewers, for that matter.

Nonfiction is always different than fiction.