Advice - My author photo...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Star

So cool I am
Registered
Reaction score
Greetings Fellow Writers,

I'm on a roll today. This is the most I've ever posted here in one day. Woo-hoo! Somebody stop me! *peering around for moderators*

Okay. So my novel is coming out in trade paperback. I've done my research on author photos. Most authors opted for a professional background, some pix have been taken outdoors, some against a brick wall, etc.

Anybody have any recommendations for the best background? (I'm not hiring a professional photographer.) All suggestions are appreciated. :)

Ol' Fashioned Girl

Hand? What hand?
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jenniferdahl.com
Actually, I'm no expert on author photos... but I like the ones with outdoor settings. A lot depends on your coloring, what you're wearing, etc., as well as whether you're going for a closeup or an upper torso...

I'd say take a bunch in different settings, different clothes, different color combinations and go with what YOU like. Or pick out two or three and let them make the choice.

Toothpaste

THE RECKLESS RESCUE is out now!
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.adriennekress.com
I'd recommend, if you can afford it, hiring a professional photographer. This photograph will not only be on your book, but will be used for all publicity etc. We live in a very visual time, and people want to see what authors look like now. It is well worth the investment, and remember it is tax deductible.