What to do, what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

K1P1

Procrastination is its own reward
Registered
Reaction score
So, here I am, my 2nd book is in production right now. I'll expect to get the first pages for review at the beginning of April.

I need to work on the concept for the next book (actually, I'm ready to do that, but my editor is currently fully occupied on production of the current one). I don't want to invest a whole lot of time in developing book #3 (I'm a non-fiction writer, so I don't do this on spec), until we've agreed on the topic and a bare bones outline.

I'm lined up to write a series of articles, but they might take one or two days a month at most. The next one's not due until the end of February and I find I'm much more efficient if I write them closer to the deadline.

So, what should I do to keep my writing momentum going? Try some poetry? Revisit that dead, 3/4 completed novel accumulating dust on the shelf? Take a break from writing so that I'll be all revved up and ready to go when the time comes?

Edit some of my knitting designs and publish some new patterns (this is probably what I should be doing, since I haven't published anything new in a long time, but it also doesn't interest me at the moment).

What would you do?

Lauri B

I Heart Mac
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Hi Maggie,
I just sent in a manuscript for a nf book a couple of weeks ago, and I also had that really unpleasant loose-ends feeling. I always think I'm going to be thrilled when i'm done with a book, but it's usually just sort a let-down not to have a deadline sitting on my shoulder. I took a couple of weeks off, read some cheesy detective novels (my favorite kind), watched a lot of Discovery tv, and now feel recharged and ready to start thinking about new projects. So my advice is to take a little break and let your creative self simmer for a bit. It seems to help me, anyway.

paprikapink

Bored fanatic
Registered
Reaction score
Website