plot point 1

avid-dreamer

AW Addict
Registered
Reaction score
I hope you guys aren't getting irritated with my silly questions.:D
I'm not a screen writer. Novels are my thing, but I'm trying this for the first time.

Ok, silly request:

I am studying the first National Treasure movie and trying to separate it into acts. Having trouble identifying where the plot point 1 begins.

Here is my guess:

ACT 1:

-inciting incident:
N. Cage and his associate steal The Declaration of Independence.

-Plot point 1:
They go to his father's house and the map is revealed, but the police is on his trail.

Ok,
please tell me if I am correct or if I am spewing rubbish.

Thanks.:)

clockwork

In the zone...
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
redzonefilm.net
I think you're running a bit late there. I've only seen the film once but I'm pretty sure a lot of stuff happens before they steal the Declaration of Independence.

The inciting incident of Act 1 is a catalyst that takes place, usually around page 10-15 that gets the story moving. In this case and, again, it's been ages since I've seen it, but I would say the inciting incident is when Nic Cage's character is betrayed on that frozen shipwreck. This is the incident that propels him on the rest of the journey.

The stealing of the document comes much later in the film and is probably the end of act 1 though, again, I'm not sure at what page/time it comes in the film.

As to plot point 1, I'm afraid I'm not keen on that notion (what isn't plot in a screenplay?) and so I'm not sure what it may refer to here but I think that about the time that the document switches hands would be getting there - if the idea is that the script reveals something new that twists the story. I think that comes just after the moment you described although, thinking about it, that could easily be some sort of midpoint as well.

What model are you following here? Maybe that would help.

avid-dreamer

AW Addict
Registered
Reaction score