The AW Amazon Store
Buy books by AWers

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

Thread: Ottenheimer Properties

nunka

Ottenheimer Properties

I'm an author of children's books and am looking for an agency.
    These guys were interested in my stuff in the past. How do I found out more about them? (they don't have a website)
    Does any of you have any recommendations about an agent or agency you work with (for children's books)?

Thanks,
    N.

Your Genial Uncle Absolute Sage James D. Macdonald's Avatar
    Ottenheimer Properties LLC
    1314 Bedford Ave
    Pikesville MD 21208-6604
    Phone: 410-415-0415

At BEA 2006: http://www.publishersweekly.com/article/CA6324720.html

Ottprop.com does not seem to exist at present.

At BEA 2007: http://www.bookexpoamerica.com/App/h...88&Exid=493020

1314 Bedford Avenue, Suite 113
    Baltimore, MD 21208
    Phone: 410-415-0415

Company Description
    Ottenheimer Properties is an agency representing publishers into the North American market. The principals have more than 90 years of publishing experience and a detailed knowledge of the market. We specialize in childrens books.

In general, there's no such thing as a stealth agent. Any agent you want is one who's sold books you've heard of.

nunka
    Thanks, I knew about these references, I just didn't feel the tell much about their experience.
    Is there a way to know which books he sold?

Your Genial Uncle Absolute Sage James D. Macdonald's Avatar
    You could ask him.

How did he come to your attention? Why do you feel he's the perfect agent for you?

Everything you wanted to know about literary agents

nunka
    I don't know if he is the perfect agent for me. I just know that he specializes in children's books.