AW Amazon Store

If this site is helpful to you,
Please consider a voluntary subscription to defray ongoing expenses.

Welcome to the AbsoluteWrite Water Cooler! Please read The Newbie Guide To Absolute Write

Thread: Red Engine Press / River Road Press / Authors' Coalition

Emmanuele

Red Engine Press / River Road Press / Authors' Coalition

Has anyone ever dealt with Red Engine Press? I am new to this and some of you have answered me on the Tate company so thanks on that. Red Engine Press seem real nice and I plan to do more checking on them but was hoping someone in here knew about them.
    Thanks
    Emmanuele

Writer Beware Goddess Absolute Sage victoriastrauss's Avatar
    Also these guys.

The publisher would appear to be an outgrowth of a group of PA authors who've banded together to promote their books. Based on the info at the site, they have more of a clue than other PA authors, but I would suspect that Red Engine Press, like so many other Internet-based publishers, has minimal ability to market and distribute.

- Victoria

Your Genial Uncle Absolute Sage James D. Macdonald's Avatar
    Like any other publisher:

Have you personally ever read any of their books?

Have any of your friends ever read any of their books?

When you walk down to your local bookstore do you find any of their books on the shelf?

If not ... why are you considering them?

Start at the top and work down is my advice to everyone.

That means starting with the imprints of Bertelsmann, von Holtzbrinck, News Corp, Viacom, Time/Warner, Houghton Mifflin, Pearson, Harlequin, John Wiley, and Bloomsbury. Go to those corporate webpages to find the names of their publishing houses. Go to those publishers' webpages to find the names of their imprints. Go to the imprints webpages to find their submission guidelines.

Most (but not all) will require that you submit through an agent.

Here's how to get an agent:

http://www.sff.net/people/VictoriaSt...entsearch.html