How long is too long a wait on a three-chap partial?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jack_Roberts

Scribe of my muse, Annabelle
Registered
Reaction score
Website
night-children.blogspot.com
Hey guys, I’ve got a question.
My partial has been in the hands of an agent for two weeks.
I understand that I should not email to check. I’m told that to do so will mark me an amateur. I also have heard that partials generally take two weeks before you hear something.
I’m going nuts. How long should I wait? Forever? What if she never gets back to me? What if she thinks it stunk or forgot or lost my email?
Is there any definite stance on checking in? Two weeks? Two months? Two years? Two centuries?
Also, what’s so bad about being seen as an amateur? I am an amateur. This is my first try. If I’m polite, respectful and honest, would it be tragic to simply ask after two weeks how “things are going”?
Sorry for this silly question, but I’m going insane.

maestrowork

Fear the Death Ray
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.amazon.com
Two weeks?

Try at least six.

It never helps to be a "pest" after only two weeks... even four... remember, an agent's priority is his or her clients. And there are other works she's reading... the queue might be a long one.

In the meantime, write something. Don't sit around and wait.

If there's no exclusivity, keep sending it out...

Last edited:

Jack_Roberts

Registered
Reaction score
Website
That does make sense. Sorry if I seemed so new. I figured she was busy. I guess I just don’t realize how busy because I’m not that familiar with the process.

icerose

Lost in School Work
Registered
Reaction score
If you're freaking out at two weeks you're going to hate what I have to say. Some can take as long as a full year. Beyond six months to a year, then I would say you've waited long enough.

If it isn't exclusive, keep quering and as others have said, keep writing.