Hi! Newbie here...

JennyA

Registered
Reaction score
Hi there. I'm new and have read so many threads and comments in the forum already. I was encouraged to join by another member, and it was suggested to specifically check out the Bewares area, as I've started querying for my manuscript.

A bit about myself... I like to read young adult novels, especially those written in present tense (eg: Divergent, Hunger Games).

I've written my own YA novel, and now I'm learning more about agents, literary agencies, and the whole query process.

I love science and enjoy finding ways to include it in my work. I'm glad to see more female protagonists, especially those who are intelligent and use science, technology, engineering, or math in their daily lives.

Questions:
1. I would like to know if there is a list of reputable literary agencies and agents. Searching each one at a time is a long and tedious process. It would help to narrow them down.

2. Is there a simple way to search up an agent or literary agency to see if they are on Santa's Naughty List? So far, I've been trying to search for each one individually under Writer Beware and a Google search, but it would be great if there was a way to make this process simpler. I'm new and learning, so please let me know if there's an easier way.

Thanks so much!

Last edited:

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
:welcome:

You may check agents and publishers' reputation in Bewares, Recommendations and Backgrounds. There is also a comprehensive list of agents and publishers in that room. If you want a refined search you can try sites like AgentQuery and PublishersMarketplace and cross reference their reputation in Bewares.

Take some time and read the Newbie Guide and the Stickies found
at the top of Forum pages. They are your best guide to learning about
Absolute Write.

Stop by the Weekend Progress Report each week to brag about your weekly writing accomplishments.