What if my novel is set in a place that resembles one from a famous book, but the story's different?

semantica

Registered
Reaction score
I have an embarrassing question.

One of my readers told me the map I’m using for my Fantasy debut novel looks a lot like the arena from a famous trilogy. It has force fields, a center area surrounded by another force field, and 16 sections, while the existing novel has 12 sections, force fields and also central area. You can probably guess which one is it just by this description. Aside from that, my story is completely different. It’s just a design I made to keep 16 groups of people that are fighting each other separated, while the main antagonist is located in the center.

Should I be worried about it? I could probably change it and not make it circular, but I'd have to recalculate distances and rewrite parts of the story. Plus, a circular terrain like this is a better setting for my novel.

Also, I see the irony in posting a similar topic to an existing thread in this forum (Fear of duplicate ideas). Hopefully this one is specific enough to be allowed.

Last edited:

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I would not worry about it in the least. I might consider renaming the force fields something else and make the way they work unlike the other books' details--if theirs shimmer, maybe yours pulse or emit a low electrical buzz, like that.

But to have a circle in segments, each keeping its population separate by means of a wall, shield, force field, whatever, with a central area is hardly copyrighted. It's a common design in prisons and nursing homes, each segment a group of cells or rooms.

Jan74

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
^^^ agree, it's like having a castle in a novel....nothing wrong with numerous authors having dungeons and turrets, and from what you describe it sounds very different from the trilogy I'm assuming you are speaking of.

AwP_writer

Registered