Writers Conference

Status
Not open for further replies.

JShaft33

Registered
Reaction score
This isn't necessarily the best thread for this post, however it appears my posting ability is still limited within other threads due to my new member status.

I just discovered that my hometown has a Writers Conference coming up in a couple of weeks:
atlantawritersconference dot com

As I am new to all of this I wanted to see if other's have attended similar and found value. The agenda is as follows:

Friday, November 3, 2017

11:30-4:00 p.m. Check in outside the Concourse A Ballroom on the bottom level of the Renaissance Concourse Atlanta Airport Hotel conference area.

12:30-1:30 p.m. Editors Q&A Panel with all six editors from publishing firms in the Concourse A Ballroom.

1:45-4:00 p.m. Query Letter Critique: In the third-floor meeting rooms, panels of one editor and one agent each offer critiques and suggestions during sessions of about ten minutes to improve participants’ query letters so they’ll shine when they pitch their chosen agent(s)/editor(s) one-on-one on Saturday and/or have a sterling query letter to use ever after. Past guest agents and editors have called this a “must do” activity, and often cite it as the most helpful and informative educational session offered by any conference anywhere. Meanwhile, Paul Levine gives two free, interactive talks with Q&A in the Concourse A Ballroom: “From Page to Screen: The Process of Turning Your Book into a Movie” and “Republishing: Turning a Self-Published Book into a Traditional Publication.”