Hello! Newish member with finished circus themed illustrated YA, getting that discouraged feeling..

artisanne

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all! I finished my YA manuscript after 2... 3 years (I can't remember anymore.. haha) of research, writing and polishing. I made this account to get some guidance and support, as my first batch of about 5 queries came back with all form rejects. So I figure I better start posting on other posts in query letter hell.

But I'm a little concerned I might be on the bad side of a trend, or my book might be a bit particular to market. It's set in 1912 in a traveling circus, and it's speculative... And illustrated. Not graphic novel style, but more like Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar children incorporates visuals, or The Invention of Hugo Cabret (If you're curious about my art, it's at theshimmeringcircus.deviantart.com). My illustrations are in the style of vintage posters and portraits, as I'm a portrait artist. Some are based off of vintage photographs.

Im wondering if my query letter or first pages have issues, or if it's just a hard sell, or if there are too many circus books out there lately. I thought it would be unique with the illustrations, but I don't think agents have been interested enough to even view my page.

Anyways, if you have any thoughts or just want to say hi, please do!! Thanks :)

MaeZe

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
It sounds like you need critique if that wasn't part of your learning to write process. You can get critique here or join a local critique group. I can't emphasize the importance of feedback enough.

regdog

The Scavengers
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
:welcome:

Take some time and read the Newbie Guide and the Stickies found
at the top of Forum pages. They are your best guide to learning about
Absolute Write.

Stop by the Weekend Progress Report each week to brag about your weekly writing accomplishments.
Awesome smilies and awards are given each week.